When renting a car in a new city, you're likely to sync your phone to its system to navigate or play tunes. But connecting via Bluetooth could cost you your privacy when the vehicle is returned. Linking your device may expose your name, stored contact information, and log-ins for music-streaming accounts to the next driver. In 2015, a Baltimore man tracked down teens who stole his car via a phone name matching a public Instagram handle. GPS and navigation history can also reveal where you were staying or work.
Whether you should pair your phone depends on how you do it. Bluetooth is more risky, while using USB for Apple Car Play or Android Auto is encrypted. Car systems typically ask if you'd like to sync all contacts; selecting "no" lets you use music and navigation without sharing unnecessary information. Most rental car privacy policies, like Avis, state customers are responsible for data transmitted. Avis advises: "Please always unpair your device and ensure that you take the necessary steps to remove your information from the system when you return the car."
Before returning a rental car, disconnect from the car in your phone's Bluetooth settings and remove the vehicle from paired devices. The Federal Communications Commission suggests deleting your phone from the navigation system history. For a thorough option, many cars offer a factory reset. To be extremely safe, avoid connecting to the car at all and just navigate from your phone.
Source: Engadget · Summarized by HeadlinesBriefing